Pope Francis, Hillary Clinton and former UN chief Ban Ki-Moon will be honored at the next Cinema for Peace gala in Berlin on February 19.

The long gala organized by the Cinema for Peace Foundation will be accompanied by the first World Forum on the Future of Democracy, Technology and Humanity.

This latest event will take place from February 18th to 19th at the Allianz Forum, next to the Brandenburg Gate, in Berlin, with the aim of promoting the renewal of democracy and freedom at a time when both are threatened.

The Cinema for Peace Foundation was created in 2008, an international non-profit organization with the aim of promoting change through cinema. Over the years he has worked with a number of stars, including Angelina Jolie, Brad Pitt, Leonardo DiCaprio and George Clooney.

Clinton and Ban will attend the Feb. 19 gala in person, while Pope Francis will participate via videoconference. They will receive their Cinema for Peace awards from Sharon Stone, Nobel Peace Prize-winning human rights lawyer Oleksandra Matviichuk and Irish singer, songwriter and political activist Bob Geldof.

The gala will also include the annual Cinema for Peace Awards ceremony, which celebrates films that address the perception and resolution of the global social, political and humanitarian challenges of our time, with its Cinema for Peace Awards.

This year's nominees include The zone of interest, Oppenheimer, Barbie It is Flower Assassins. Scroll down to see the full list.

There will be a special award for filmmakers whose work supports the protection of Jewish life, in memory of the Holocaust and the Hamas attacks on Israel on October 7, in which 1,200 people were killed and another 240 taken hostage.

The evening will also feature an auction with items on offer, including Stone's artwork.

The gala's guest list includes actors Helen Mirren, Omar Sy, Mario Adorf, Veronica Ferres, Thomas Kretschmann, Nastassja Kinski, Didi Hallervorden, Ben Becker, Jan Josef Liefers and the German band The BossHoss.

Other guests include Annalena Baerbock, Germany's first female foreign minister, Finance Minister Christian Lindner, and journalist Marina Ovsyannikova, who rose to fame after protesting Russia's invasion of Ukraine in a live news bulletin .

Pope Francis will be honored along with the film Freedom in Fire: Ukraine's fight for freedom by Evgeny Afineevsky, for his contributions to Ukraine's freedom and humanitarian efforts to protect civilians and children.

Other events taking place as part of the World Forum include the world premiere of Silent Diplomat: Ban Ki-moon and the Future of the United Nations followed by a discussion with Ban, as well as separate special evenings with Clinton and Stone.

Berlin's Galerie Deschler will also host Stone's Art Exhibition Totem, featuring works exhibited outside the US for the first time.

Nominees for the 2024 Cinema for Peace Award

Cinema for Peace Dove as the most valuable film of the year 2024

  • American Fiction by Cord Jefferson
  • Barbie by Greta Gerwig
  • Stupid money by Craig Gillespie
  • The count by Paul Larrain
  • Golda by Native Guy
  • Flower Moon Assassins by Martin Scorsese
  • A life by James Hawkes
  • Oppenheimer by Christopher Nolan
  • Past lives by Celine Song
  • The zone of interest by Jonathan Glazer

Cinema for Peace Dove for Most Valuable Documentary of the Year 2024

  • American Symphony by Matthew Heineman
  • Hong Kong Mixtape by San San F. Young
  • In the shadow of Beirut by Garry Keane and Stephen Gerard Kelly
  • JFK: One Day in America by Ella Wright
  • Kiss the future by Nenad Čičin-Šain
  • Homeland by Hanna Badziaka and Alexander Mihalkovich

Cinema for Peace Pigeon for Women’s Empowerment 2024

  • The Disappearance of Shere Hite by Nicole Newnham
  • Four daughters by Kaouther Ben Hania
  • Frida by Carla Gutiérrez
  • Invisible beauty by Bethann Hardison and Frédéric Tcheng
  • Nyad by Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin
  • Brotherhood of the Smoke Sauna by Anna Tips

Cinema for Peace nominated for political film of the year 2024

  • Blix, not bombs by Greta Stocklassova
  • Bobi Wine: the people's president by Moses Bwayo and Christopher Sharp
  • Challenger by Karim Amer
  • Invisible Nation by Vanessa Hope
  • January 6th by Jules and Gedeon Naudet
  • Origin by Ava DuVernay

Cinema for Peace Dove for Justice 2024

  • Justice by Doug Liman
  • Lakota Nation x United States by Jesse Short Bull
  • Stamped from the start by Roger Ross Williams
  • Theater of Violence by Lukasz Konopa and Emil Langballe
  • War and Justice by Michelle Gentile and Marcus Vetter

International Green Film Award 2024

  • Common Ground by Josh Tickell and Rebecca Harrell Tickell
  • The Green Planet by Paul Williams, Peter Bassett, Elisabeth Oakham and Rosie Thomas
  • Life on our planet by Adam Chapman, Sophie Lanfear, Nick Shoolingin-Jordan, Barny Revill and Gisele Sverdrup
  • Elephant Secrets by Glenn Barden, Fleur Bone and Josh Helliker
  • Whale Nation by Jean-Albert Lièvre
  • We are Guardians by Chelsea Greene, Rob Grobman and Edivan Guajajara
  • Cinema for Peace delved into global health 2024
  • Our body by Claire Simon
  • Pay or die by Rachael Dyer and Scott Alexander Ruderman
  • Poisoned: The Dirty Truth About Your Food by Stephanie Soechtig
  • Still: a film by Michael J. Fox by Davis Guggenheim
  • The Walls of Bergamo by Stefano Savona