David Barber has been elected president of the Motion Picture Sound Editors for a four-year term. He takes over for termed-out MPSE leader Mark Lanza.

Elsewhere, the group re-elected Miguel Araujo was as Secretary, and Eric Marks was appointed to fill Barber’s previous post as Vice President until the next board election in October. Timothy Muirhead and Brian Armstrong were elected as general board members, joining returning members Lanza, Eric Marks, Stuart Morton, Baylon Fonseca, Christina Horgan, Korey Pereira and Kevin Howard.

Barber is a supervising sound editor and re-recording mixer with more than 200-plus film and TV credits spanning nearly two decades. He is a three-time MPSE Golden Reel Award winner, most recently for his work on In Search of Fellini and The Duel. He’s been nominated for Golden Reels 15 other times since 2013.

“Stepping into Mark’s shoes presents a considerable challenge given his exceptional leadership through the trying times of Covid,” Barber said of his predecessor. “Under his guidance, and the oversight of the Board of Directors, we not only persevered, we experienced unprecedented expansion. My goal is to keep MPSE on that trajectory, championing the arts of sound editing, design and foley to our community, the industry, and the public at large.”

Founded in 1953, the Motion Picture Sound Editors is a nonprofit organization of professional sound and music editors who work in the motion picture television and gaming industries. It will announce the 2024 Golden Reel nominees on January 15 and honor the winners at the 71st annual ceremony on March 3.